HomeCommunity NewsSan Marino Rotary Awards Mini-Grants to Teachers

San Marino Rotary Awards Mini-Grants to Teachers

By Stacy Lee

The Rotary Club of San Marino wants to help teachers “think outside the box” for exciting new learning opportunities for students.

The club awarded $12,815.33 in grant money on Oct. 28 to numerous San Marino teachers through the club’s William G. ‘Bill” Steele Jr. Mini-Grant Program for Classroom Innovation.

“This is a very special moment for our Rotary Club,” said San Marino Rotary President Mike Driebe. “This affords us an opportunity to connect Rotarians and the money that Rotarians raise with the wonderful programs and projects that teachers in our area schools are involved with. The Bill Steele Mini-Grant awards have become quite an institution in this community. It’s become an avenue for teachers to get involved and express themselves with creative, innovative and new ideas.”

Fang Ho, chairwoman of the Bill Steele Mini-Grant Committee said the San Marino Rotary is presenting the grants “due to the generosity of Mr. Andy Barth through the directing effort of San Marino Rotary Charities and of course, the volunteerism of Bill Steele.”

The Bill Steele Mini-Grant Committee members were Gilda Moshir, Calvin Lo, Steven Huang, Charlie Rasmussen, Isaac Hung, Bob Eichel, Sue Spence and Scott Kwong.

Teachers from Carver Elementary School, Valentine Elementary School, Huntington Middle School, San Marino High School, Clairbourn School, Southwestern Academy and Saints Felicitas and Perpetua School were awarded grants this year.

For the full story, see the print edition of the San Marino Tribune, or download the e-edition.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Most Popular

[bsa_pro_ad_space id=3]