HomeCommunity NewsCub Scouts Compete in Pinewood Derby, Crosstown Showdown

Cub Scouts Compete in Pinewood Derby, Crosstown Showdown

Valentine Cub Scout Pack 354 recently held its annual Pinewood Derby, where more than 120 cubs gathered at the Valentine Little Theater to race their custom creations down the brand-new metal track in front of cheering families and friends.
Scouts got to experience the thrill of racing, all while refueling themselves with an extensive array of snacks from the Pitstop Cafe. Prizes were awarded to each of the Cub Scout rank winners, as well as the overall pack champions.
The car designs were also recognized, with scouts voting for their favorite cars. Additionally, a Cubmaster’s Award was given to scouts for attention to detail and their involvement in building the car.
Immediately following the pack races, the rank winners from Carver Cub Scout Pack 361 came by for the second annual Crosstown Showdown, which pitted the two packs against each other for some friendly competition — to determine the All-City Champion.
After narrowly losing in the inaugural showdown in 2022, Valentine Pack 354 prevailed this year to take home the Motor Classic Cup, generously donated by the San Marino Motor Classic. Pack 354 Wolf scout Liam Islam took home the individual All-City Champion title, in addition to winning the pack championship.

Lion (Kindergarten)
First place — Rocky Wahl
Second place — Benjamin Groppi
Third place — Audrey Young
Scout’s Choice — Avery Fu
Cubmaster’s Award — Theo Lundgren

Tiger (1st Grade)
First place — Py Shen
Second place — Kieran Paek
Third place — Dylan Kang
Scout’s Choice — Remy Takaesu
Cubmaster’s Award — Arshan Asadsangabi

Wolf (2nd Grade)
First place — Liam Islam
Second place — Adeline Chan
Third place — Maeve Daugherty
Scout’s Choice — Joelle Jung
Cubmaster’s Award — Jayla Lopez

Bear (3rd Grade)
First place — Nicholas Lam
Second place — Niko Kokoris
Third place — Owen Chen
Scout’s Choice — Nathaniel Lim
Cubmaster’s Award — Nikhil Shiao

Webelos I (4th Grade)
First place — Roland Zeitlin
Second place — Jerry Jin
Third place — Madeline Kang
Scout’s Choice — Ian Dobson
Cubmaster’s Award — Riley

Webelos II (5th Grade)
First place — Grace Gibson
Second place — Darren Wong
Third place — Ethan Chen
Scout’s Choice — Emily Guo
Cubmaster’s Award — Joaquin Arredondo

Photos courtesy Cub Scout Pack 354


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Most Popular

[bsa_pro_ad_space id=3]